Early-career scientists showcase their work at the 20th Annual Trainee Research Symposium

| Written by Miles Martin
People presenting scientific posters at an outdoor event with tents and trees in the background

The scientific leaders of tomorrow gathered to showcase their work at the 20th Annual Trainee Research Symposium on September 23rd. The talented group of presenters included postdoctoral researchers, graduate students, and staff scientists from labs across Sanford Burnham Prebys. 

After introductory remarks by Sanford Burnham Prebys Student Network co-chairs Stephen Sakuma and Marie Berenguer, Ph.D., as well as president Kristiina Vuori, M.D., Ph.D., the young scientists gave 20-minute podium presentations about their research, which were judged by a panel of Sanford Burnham Prebys faculty and staff. Speakers included:

•    Nirmalya Dasgupta, Ph.D. (Postdoctoral Fellow, Adams lab)
•    Ceda Stamenkovic (Graduate Student, Sacco Lab)
•    Cynthia Lebeaupin, Ph.D. (Postdoctoral Associate, Kaufman lab)
•    James Kezos, Ph.D. (Postdoctoral Fellow, Ocorr Lab)
•    Zhijie Xia, Ph.D. (Postdoctoral Fellow, Freeze lab)
•    Valeria Guglielmi, Ph.D. (Postdoctoral Associate, D’Angelo lab)
•    Victoria Recouvreux, Ph.D. (Staff Scientist, Commisso lab)
•    Jonatan Matalonga Borrel, Ph.D. (Postdoctoral Associate, Dong lab)
•    Chiara Nicoletti, Ph.D. (Postdoctoral Associate, Puri lab)

Cynthia Lebeaupin, Ph.D. and Valeria Guglielmi, Ph.D. were respectively awarded first and second place by the judges for their presentations, for which they’ll each receive a cash prize to go towards career development activities. Lebeaupin’s research focuses on the progression of fatty liver disease to liver cancer, and Guglielmi studies the role of nuclear pores the development of bone marrow cells. 

After the first two sessions of presentations, the keynote speech for the Symposium was given by Katherine Thompson-Peer, Ph.D., an assistant professor of developmental & cell biology at the University of California at Irvine.

Following the last podium presentation was a poster session where 30 early-career scientists were given the chance to present their work. A panel of judges selected the top three posters—presented by Shaun Lim from the Kumsta and Hansen labs, Aleksandr Arzamasov from the Osterman lab, and Michaela Lynott from the Colas lab—and they will also receive a cash prize. The day was capped off with closing remarks from Sanford Burnham Prebys CEO C. Randal Mills, Ph.D.

Congratulations to all the participants in this year’s Symposium, and a special thank you to the staff at the Office of Education, Training, & International Services (OETIS) for organizing the event. 

Related Posts